Library

Back to the Blog!

Four years have passed since I’ve posted on this blog. Four years. In that time I earned a Master of Library and Information Science degree, plunged into my first school library jobs,  went on a year-long adventure in Taiwan and Southeast Asia with my family, and watched as Little Man went from toddler to kindergarten graduate (he just lost his first tooth! What?!). While all of that would have been interesting to document, I just did not have the time.

Now feels like an auspicious time to start back up. I will begin a very exciting new job this Fall as the Middle School Learning Commons Coordinator at a brand new space at the Chinese American International School. As Dr. David Loerschter has proclaimed this The Year of the Learning Commons, it seems like it might be helpful for other librarians to see my process – so they can learn from my experiments and avoid the inevitable failures, as well as have a place to cheer each other on.  I will also have a monthly blog spot over at Knowledge Quest featuring other librarian folks and their Learning Commons adventures.

I am so ready to hunker down and dive into this career. It really is my dream job and I cannot wait to meet my new colleagues and students and start imagining ways to use the Learning Commons resources to help make learning fun, relevant and connected to their passions – to start creating wonder! Please follow along and join in the conversation.

 

Leave a comment