Uncategorized

My New Baby, the iPad

As a big fan of pen, paper and actual books, it was unlikely that I would be one of the first in line to get the new iPad, and yet here I am creating my first post on one. I have never been on the forefront of new technology. I was the last of my friends to get a computer and then a cell phone. I still don’t have a smart phone and if I attempt to do anything on my husband’s droid it ends up chirping and croaking and running five apps at once. New gadgets have always been his thing, but when he saw the iPad coming, he knew it was for me.
It is big enough that even a klutz like me can type comfortably. I can read on it, I can write on it, I can do crosswords. I’m sure there are a million other things I haven’t even discovered I can do with it. There are valid critiques of it you can read at Gizmodo, the most important of which to me are the lack of a built-in camera and the inability to multitask, but above all else, it is truly an objet d’art. Now that I have it in my hands, I feel like I should have on kid gloves. It is so elegant, in fact, I want to put it in long satin gloves and take it to the opera to show it off. Or skip the opera and stay in bed all day getting to know each other.
But my life is no opera and there’s no time to lollygag. This thing has to be able to not only withstand my clumsy hands and low-tech brain, but a drooling baby, shedding dogs, and the rigors of international travel. Its very first job is to entertain us on the flight to Taiwan this Tuesday, guide us through the streets of Taipei for three weeks, and allow me to tell you about it from the other side of the world.
Stick around to see if it is up to the task.

Note to other WordPress bloggers: I am already having issues on this first post. I am using the WP app, but can’t insert links or look up words (thanks to no multitasking). It seems like you can’t type directly into the WP website. Is there a way to type a draft in Pages and paste it into this app? Any easier ways to go about it?

One thought on “My New Baby, the iPad

  1. Welcome to your ‘new’ baby, dear…….:)) Audy is waiting for his too!! He just keep saying, I can’t wait….I can’t wait…..:))
    Have a very happy and enjoyable holiday with your little man at Taiwan. And should I wish the enjoyable one too with the in laws?*wink.
    *Hugs

Leave a Reply

