Uncategorized

An Attitude Adjustment is in Order

Man, it’s hard to get anything done when you have a baby. As a compulsive listmaker, it’s very good (and extremely difficult) practice for me to chuck the to-dos and take life as it comes. Babies are a good reminder to be present in the moment because you just don’t know what’s going to happen next. Will he take a nap and give me an hour or two to get things done? If he does, which thing should I do? a)Hop in the shower. b)Write thank you notes for all the gifts people have given us. c)Try to get some art or writing or bill-paying or house-cleaning done. d)Take a nap when he naps so I won’t be such a sleep-deprived wreck.

Usually, he wakes up fussy or needs feeding as soon as I make up my mind. The less of an agenda I have, the more I can stop and enjoy these fleeting days of his babyhood. If I can put my own ambitions in check, I can remember that this stage will pass all too quickly, and he’ll never need me as much as he does right now. I’ve gotta get all my kisses and hugs and love in now, before he doesn’t want it someday.

Pierre Teilhard de Chardin has a good quote to keep it all in perspective. “Do not forget that the value and interest of life is not so much to do conspicuous things…as to do ordinary things with the perception of their enormous value.”

Little Man, you are my to-do list for now, and that’s enough.

3 thoughts on “An Attitude Adjustment is in Order

Leave a Reply

