Uncategorized

I Heart My ‘Hood

photo from WikiPedia
photo from WikiPedia

I’ve lived in San Francisco for almost eight years now. For the first two years and this last year, The Mission District has been my ‘hood, and one of the best ways to see what The Mission is all about is to see Carnaval.

Carnaval is a festival of flesh, rythym, color, and life. It is a party everyone is welcome to, and you cannot help but dance with joy as you get closer to the sounds of samba and drumming and cheering, then watch the parade of feathers, floats, and freedom to be me and you and we. There are ethnic groups of all kinds, people of all ages, and everyone shakes their booties together.

Come down to the parade, Sunday May 24, and celebrate Mission style. Have a happy Memorial Day weekend, and check back next week to hear about the big time birthday surprise I’m planning for my hubby!

Leave a Reply

