Where The Wild Things Are Quilt

Where The Wild Things Are Quilt

I chose to paint a mural from Where The Wild Things Are on a wall of my son’s nursery because I love the story, I think Maurice Sendak is a children’s book genius, and I love nature and the moon in particular, so I thought a forest scene with the moon peeking through the window would be perfect. I thought it was a bonus that there really isn’t a lot of merchandise to go along with it; it’s not super popular like Winnie the Pooh, so there’s not accessories galore to be inundated with by well-meaning family and friends (that could all change when the new Spike Jonze movie adaptation comes out – yikes! So much for trying to pick something unpopular).

But leave it to my family and friends; they’re a determined and creative bunch. They’ve managed to dig up all the WTWTA merch I didn’t know existed, and where they’ve been unable to buy it, they’ve made it themselves. Which I have to admire. The room is getting a little more “themey” than I intended, but I adore handmade schwag made with love. After my aunt’s incredible baby shower WTWTA cake, I thought I’d seen it all, but then came this, a sweet sweet WTWTA  quilt handmade by my Grandma. Brings tears to my eyes. I hung it on the wall because I don’t want anything to happen to it. Adorable, and like I said, determined, my grandmother who had never even heard of the story went out to her local bookstore to pick it up and could only find it in Spanish, bought it and took it home to find fabric that matched the colors. I love how simple the imagery is, just the moon in the top right corner, and a silhouette of Max in the bottom left. How sweet is my family?

Where The Wild Things Are - Quilt Detail

5 thoughts on “Where The Wild Things Are Quilt

Leave a Reply

