Uncategorized

INFJ – A dreamer and a doer

Someone sent me an interesting online personality test, and I came out an INFJ. I thought it was a surprisingly apt description of who I am, especially this profile, which calls me a “Counselor Idealist” – someone who has great compassion for humankind, but does well working at something like writing which requires solitude and close attention.

It goes on to say, “Counselors are scarce, little more than one percent of the population, and can be hard to get to know, since they tend not to share their innermost thoughts or their powerful emotional reactions except with their loved ones. They are highly private people, with an unusually rich, complicated inner life. Friends or colleagues who have known them for years may find sides emerging which come as a surprise. Not that Counselors are flighty or scattered; they value their integrity a great deal, but they have mysterious, intricately woven personalities which sometimes puzzle even them.”

As someone who is semi-secretly pursuing a creative life in art and writing, and hoping it someday touches people at a deeper level to incite thought and, ideally, positive change, I feel encouraged that I’m in good company with others who have this personality, doers and dreamers who have that “rare combination of vision and practicality” – Jane Goodall, Martin Luther King, Jr., Nelson Mandela, Mother Theresa – and at the same time discouraged that I have not tangibly lived up to my dreams as much as I imagine.

I bet Amelie would be an INFJ (if she were real), and I feel more like her so far, having fantasies of doing something meaningful, while currently only capable of shy observation and private creative benevolent pursuits. I’m trying to get braver about writing about what’s going on in my head, since that’s what I love to read most in other people’s blogs. At the same time, it’s a little lonely knowing only about 1% of the population thinks like this.

Any other INFJ’s out there know what I’m talking about? Take the test.

3 thoughts on “INFJ – A dreamer and a doer

  1. Hello, I’m an INFJ and I understand exactly what you are saying in your post. Thank you for sharing, and well written:)

Leave a Reply

